• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ACE-OF-ACES

ACE-OF-ACES

Posted 27 July 2010 - 02:59

Hi guys

RoF noob here..

Long story short..

The graphics are stunning no doubt about it..

But the distance that I can spot aircraft is very limited..

That is to say I never see a 'dot' off in the distance.. the plane just suddenly appears and appears pretty close in.. But close in it aint a dot when it apears it is a full fledge outline of a plane..

Is there a way or a setting that I can set to increase the distance at which planes 'start' to appear?

As in I can see a 'dot' out there but can not make it out just yet..

I have a two GTX280s running in SLI mode so I can handle the graphics..

Any advice/info would be great

Thanks

#2 ATAG_Bliss

ATAG_Bliss

Posted 27 July 2010 - 03:03

ACE-OF-ACES,

Sorry for the dumb question but do you have your head zoom in/out keys assigned? It allows you to change your FOV, very similar to IL2. You can zoom in so the only thing you see on your screen, if looking forward in the plane, is your aiming sight. Makes a huge difference and is a must have for spotting planes, targets, etc at a large distance.

#3 =Fifi=

=Fifi=

Posted 27 July 2010 - 03:08

sorry but anyway, sight distances are not far enough.

#4 Criquet

Criquet

Posted 27 July 2010 - 03:52

a subject which was covered in million lines of text on the forums.

If a thing is certain it is that one cannot reduce that has only one assertion

#5 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:04

The distance over which you can see aircraft is 2,5 km by default. If you zoom in however, you can increase that all the way to 9 km. It will require you to zoom in and look around a lot, so unless you can assign your zoom to an axis (I have it bound to my rudder pedal brake axis) and you have a TrackIR it will be rather tedious.

#6 PP_Nobody96

PP_Nobody96

Posted 27 July 2010 - 11:08