Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Upgraded OS now having problems


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Stuka

Stuka
  • Posts: 9

Posted 02 July 2010 - 04:25

When I was using windows vista 64-bit I could turn everything on the highest settings and it ran great.

But since I just upgraded to windows 7 64-bit it runs with horrendous framerates I tried the run as admin. and that hasn't worked. I was wondering if there was something I was missing to do? my display drivers are up to date.

My system specs:
Phenom 2 X4 3.4 ghz
6gb DDR3 1600
2 Radeon 4870's running in crossfire
  • 0

#2 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 02 July 2010 - 04:44

From what others have said I don't think RoF supports sli/crossfire GPU configurations. Try one and see if it improves.
  • 0

#3 Stuka

Stuka
  • Posts: 9

Posted 02 July 2010 - 04:48

I turned off crossfire it still ran very slow, it has worked fine with crossfire when I had vista installed.
  • 0

#4 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:12

Ah :? That's me done then, sorry. I use xp 32bit with a single vid card without issue but there have been some teething problems with w7 and RoF. I'm sure w7 users will offer some advice.
  • 0

#5 Stuka

Stuka
  • Posts: 9

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:15

Thanks, I hope so, I love this game hahahaha.
  • 0

#6 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:23

Yes it's really rather good. Good luck.
  • 0

#7 Herbs107

Herbs107
  • Posts: 234

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:46

Stuka was it a clean install of 7 or did you use a upgrade to 7 version?
  • 0

#8 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:49

RoF does not officially support Win7.
  • 0

#9 Stuka

Stuka
  • Posts: 9

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:50

It was a clean install.
  • 0

#10 WW1EAF_Ming

WW1EAF_Ming
  • Posts: 2565

Posted 02 July 2010 - 10:03

If you have benchmarking results (from the earlier OS install) for your graphics card Stuka, run the benchmark again to see if all is ok with your card's drivers

Win7 is not supported but for me Rise of Flight runs without problems on Win7 x64 Home Premium for info

Try to let Win7 handle everything under Win7's native drivers if you can, rather than installing motherboard drivers and stuff immediately after an OS install as we've been used to

Ming
  • 0

#11 Stuka

Stuka
  • Posts: 9

Posted 03 July 2010 - 03:56

Ok, the Video memory usage is that ram or is that video card ram? I just set landscape quality to med and it runs perfect, I just find it odd that I was able to run with highest setting before and now I can't. Thanks for your help.
  • 0

#12 Stuka

Stuka
  • Posts: 9

Posted 03 July 2010 - 05:51

Alright it was running good last night but now it's running horribly again, not exactly sure what happened last night to make it run good for a bit.

I haven't installed any drivers for my motherboard or anything really except for my graphics cards.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users