Photo
- - - - -

TrackIR

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 wingstrut

wingstrut

Posted 01 July 2010 - 14:28

I am new to this sim but have been around for awhile (RB3D days). I have a Dell Studio XPS system with the latest i7 chip. All that is great. But I finally invested in a TrackIR set. Last night was the first time I used the device. If you want to maximize your enjoyment of this sim and all it has to offer I strongly recommend players invest in TrackIR gear. This morning, however, I must say that I am feeling a little "air sick" and dizzy from play last night! Maybe I am just getting old because I can't stand roller coster rides anymore either. For those new to the sim and/or don't know about TrackIR. Below is a link:

http://www.naturalpoint.com/trackir/01-store/store-catalog.html

For those who do not have TrackIR you are at a technical disadvantage when playing if you do not have this. You will probably notice a player who has TrackIR in multiplayer when someone is able to follow you in every complex move when no icons are used.

ps. No I am not a paid spokesperson!

#2 ATAG_Bliss

ATAG_Bliss

Posted 01 July 2010 - 16:30

This is my firm belief with how good track ir is: I would rather fly with a keyboard and mouse with TrackIR, than fly with fancy CH joysticks, throttles, pedals, and no Track IR. That's how much of a differnce it makes. To all those thinking if it's worth it or not, IMO, it's the best upgrade you could possible make for a simmer.

#3 =IRFC=mols

=IRFC=mols

Posted 01 July 2010 - 16:54

There are some who are excellent with a mouse in their non-joystick hand who use it to pan around instead. I am not one of those, and I don't think ever will be. It does take quite a bit of practice and ambidexterity.

My only suggestion is for the "air sick" feeling is crank up the sensitivity, it is nice to only physically turn your head around 5 degrees to make your pilot check his 6. And of course take breaks. ;)

#4 ATAG_Bliss