Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

3D Objects Rules and Limitations


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 30 June 2010 - 02:57

3D Objects Rules and Limitations

Question please,

What is the maximum polygon limit for a Ground object , lets say a CASTLE or Fortification

No Damage model just a static object

Anyone ?
  • 0

#2 gapmaker

gapmaker
  • Posts: 38

Posted 30 June 2010 - 09:24

All 3D models has to be created in 3DMax v.8(SP1/2/3) ONLY!
Polygon count for stand alone buildings/groung objects is 1000-1200 for LOD0. For undamaged objects only 1 mesh (editable poly) object in scene is allowed. This object has to be textured with single diffuse texture 512*512.
  • 0

#3 =J99=Sizzlorr

=J99=Sizzlorr
  • Posts: 1700

Posted 30 June 2010 - 10:01

Did someone say fortification? Can't wait! :-D
  • 0

yedwwtfx.gif


#4 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 30 June 2010 - 13:38

GapMaker :) you are GOD !

Thank you :D Sir !

All 3D models has to be created in 3DMax v.8(SP1/2/3) ONLY!
Polygon count for stand alone buildings/groung objects is 1000-1200 for LOD0. For undamaged objects only 1 mesh (editable poly) object in scene is allowed. This object has to be textured with single diffuse texture 512*512.

I will play with a small idea and show screenshot , for approval

Best Regards
Tony
  • 0

#5 J2_squid

J2_squid
  • Posts: 3815

Posted 30 June 2010 - 14:49

Verdun :shock:
  • 0

#6 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 30 June 2010 - 15:15

"Dogfight over new castle v0.1" anyone? :D

Thank you for your reply Gapmaker!
  • 0

#7 gapmaker

gapmaker
  • Posts: 38

Posted 30 June 2010 - 18:55

WolfPac, You are wellcome! I'm wide open for all your questions concerning 3D/2D
  • 0

#8 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 01 July 2010 - 22:37

Hello GapMaker

Question time please

ProBoolean modifier Yes or no no :)

Mirror Modifier for making Wings yes or no no :D

Example of ground object below , is this allowed in rise of flight = ProBoolean one object out of the original mesh
Image

Can i "ATTACH" 2 meshes to create 1 editable mesh :)

End result is one editable mesh :) have to ask

Also ,

I have made some items for rise of flight in 3D max stiudios 2009 and 2010 version Zeppelin's, hanriot hd1 aircraft etc , can these items be IMPORTED to 3ds.files or OBJ. files then opened in Max studios 8 and SAVED again as .max file format ….

I ask to save time making models in wrong version , i realise that max.files from 2009 & 2010 can not be opened in max 2008 version , but they can be imported
Is this okay for Rise of Flight , or should i start again or import and then use as template to create fast copy.

Your advise very welcome

This is all just a learning curve.

Best Regards
Tony
  • 0

#9 gapmaker

gapmaker
  • Posts: 38

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:16

Hi, WolfPac

When You create Your scene You can use any modifyers, scripts or plug-ins You'd like. But before export scene from 3DMax to mgm format (mgm is an inner ROF 3D models format), You HAVE to collaps modifyers stack and convert Your objects in editable poly or editable mesh. Be careful when using Boolean modifyers - sometimes it creates wrong vertexes or polygons. Also, You have to assign smoothing groups on all objects in scene, in other case mgm-converter will set Smoothing Group 1 on all unassigned polygons.

You can proceed 3DMax10 - 3DMax8 export/import operation through the obj format with out any doubt. Don't forget to check object mapping after import obj in 3DMax8.

BRGDS,
Mikhail "Gapmaker"
  • 0

#10 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:27

GapMaker :) you are GOD !

I thought it was Clapton :?
  • 0

#11 WW1EAF_Ming

WW1EAF_Ming
  • Posts: 2565

Posted 02 July 2010 - 10:10

There you go Wolfy :)

Mikhail do you have a how-to tutorial to build Rise of Flight objects that you can share please?

You can proceed 3DMax10 - 3DMax8 export/import operation through the obj format with out any doubt

Excellent thanks Mikhail!

Ming
  • 0

#12 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3467
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 15 July 2010 - 18:38

There you go Wolfy :)

Mikhail do you have a how-to tutorial to build Rise of Flight objects that you can share please?

You can proceed 3DMax10 - 3DMax8 export/import operation through the obj format with out any doubt

Excellent thanks Mikhail!

Ming

Ming,

Any release of any document regarding 3D model making has to go through me first. We are investigating what can be done for the community.

Mikhail I will be in touch.

Jason
  • 0

#13 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 15 July 2010 - 20:19

Excellent :)
  • 0

#14 VonHelton

VonHelton
  • Posts: 595

Posted 31 July 2010 - 18:32

GapMaker :) you are GOD !

I thought it was Clapton :?

I thought it was Odin?

:shock:
  • 0

#15 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 31 July 2010 - 19:08

Naw he just likes to ride his high horse :D
  • 0

#16 orfu

orfu
  • Posts: 2

Posted 16 March 2011 - 07:27

The ROF engine uses LODs? If yes, how many? And how many polygons in each LOD?
In advance thanks for the answer.
  • 0

#17 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 16 March 2011 - 09:23

Well Gapmaker specified 1000-1200 for LOD0 for ground objects. I'm pretty sure this is the highest detail level.
Lower lods can be made from that model.
It would be great if some members of the community could make new ground objects as they are sorely needed and they should be the easiest to make. I'm thinking new castles, churches, town halls, fortifications, towers but also small stuff: carts, boxes, sand bags etc.
Reading gapmakers posts it should be pretty straightforward: static meshes with smooting groups in 3ds max 8 format using 512x512 texture.
  • 0

#18 WW1EAF_Ming

WW1EAF_Ming
  • Posts: 2565

Posted 16 March 2011 - 11:52

Is there an object-building document available for users yet please?

With full specifications I mean. All information issuing in dribs and drabs, hints and tips is useful but a central and official 777 Studios how-to document will of course be ideal.

Ming
  • 0

#19 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 16 March 2011 - 13:06

I don't think it's available yet Ming, but if we could show a couple of new objects in 3dsmax for the game I'm sure the devs can spare a couple of hours to give us hints & tips about how to get everyting in order (damage model for instance).

We should start with some typical WW1 landmarks. So any takers for:

-Ruined abbey near Mont Saint Eloi (http://arras-france....int-eloi-abbey/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://arras-france....int-eloi-abbey/)
-Fortifications near Verdun (http://en.wikipedia..../Fort_Douaumont" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://en.wikipedia..../Fort_Douaumont)
-Beloeil Castle (http://www.chateaudebeloeil.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.chateaudebeloeil.com)
-Sedan Castle (http://en.wikipedia....Sedan,_Ardennes" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://en.wikipedia....Sedan,_Ardennes)

etc.!
  • 0

#20 WW1EAF_Ming

WW1EAF_Ming
  • Posts: 2565

Posted 16 March 2011 - 19:00

Cheers Vander

I'm noting that there is a dot-object option-

You can proceed 3DMax10 - 3DMax8 export/import operation through the obj format
So those of us using Softimage and other applications (TrueSpace et al) can plug in our offerings in that universal object format

Ming.obj
  • 0

#21 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 16 March 2011 - 19:30

If Jason gives approval i can help in a few weeks time , but i would need to catch up time with my main project ,which comes first i hope you understand.

It would be nice to cater for the mission makers, they are the important.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users