Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Pat Wilson Campaign Generator support


  • Please log in to reply
1432 replies to this topic

#81 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4422

Posted 09 April 2012 - 16:38

I would like to know what is coop doing???
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#82 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 10 April 2012 - 14:32

Okay, I've installed the CG and it works great. One rather important problem though is that in some cases (such as when I fly DH2s out of Bertangles) my AI wingmen crash into the hangars on landing. Every single time. This only occurs at some locations including Bertangles. Major issue considering I'm losing my entire flight every mission. :P
  • 0

#83 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 10 April 2012 - 15:59

Okay, I've installed the CG and it works great. One rather important problem though is that in some cases (such as when I fly DH2s out of Bertangles) my AI wingmen crash into the hangars on landing. Every single time. This only occurs at some locations including Bertangles. Major issue considering I'm losing my entire flight every mission. :P

AJ, I believe this is more an AI issue than a PWCG issue. AI also will crash into trees on landing. In fact, it sometimes appears they look for things to collide with. Good thing we have so few ground objects, I suppose. :mrgreen:

A long time ago, I decided the only cure was to land first and quit the mission before my AI pilots killed themselves on landing.
  • 0

#84 charlo

charlo
  • Posts: 814

Posted 10 April 2012 - 16:59

(Please pardon this cross post as I share this in a few relevant threads).

For those interested in how to fly PWCG missions with a human gunner, check out the thread I started yesterday:

SP missions to MP; or How to play ROF while people visit

It's a long post because of the easy-to-follow directions, but in it I explain how to have a buddy fly as your gunner on a private multiplayer mission you host (no additional hardware or software required). It involves just a little bit of mission editing, which applies to PWCG generated missions, too.

My directions are for flying together on a LAN, but if you make your self-hosted server "Accessible from Internet" and set a password, within 10 minutes you and a friend can fly together in the same plane from your different homes anywhere in the world.

Charlo
  • 0
Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake OC @ 4.8 GHz | Corsair Hydro H70 CWCH70 CPU Cooler with two Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm fans | ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO motherboard | EVGA Titan X Hybrid GPU | G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 Series 32GB DDR4 3000 F4-3000C15Q-32GRK RAM | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD | CoolerMaster HAF 932 ATX Full Tower case |SeaSonic Snow Silent 750W Power Supply | Acer B6 Series B286HK ymjdpprz 28" 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) Monitor | Windows 10 Pro | CH Fighterstick, CH Pro Throttle, CH Throttle Quadrant, CH Pro pedals, CH MFP, Track IR 5, Buttkicker Gamer 2 | ====== My original ROF rig (now used by visiting gunners): MacBook Pro Core2Duo 2.66 GHz | 8 GBs RAM | NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 512 MB GPU

#85 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 10 April 2012 - 17:09

Great tutorial, Charlo!

Thanks!
  • 0

#86 NuthaRod

NuthaRod
  • Posts: 41

Posted 10 April 2012 - 22:04

I've been playing around with this myself. Not having to be online is a giant plus, but…

Am I missing something, or would you say that this is more of a random one-shot mission generator than a SP career mode as such? It looks to me like all I can do outside of random mission generation is manually enter how many kills I got afterwards. My squadron mates don't appear to do anything when I'm not flying myself, so I'm not sure if I'm not seeing something obvious.

Also, is there any flak? I don't think I've actually been shot at on the offensive patrols I've been on - flying over enemy lines without being fired at is completely foreign to me. :)

I'm not saying that random mission generation isn't useful, but I just want to make sure that I'm not being unreasonable in my expectations for this program.
  • 0

#87 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 10 April 2012 - 22:18

It looks to me like all I can do outside of random mission generation is manually enter how many kills I got afterwards.

No, it can be fully automatic like beta Career mode. Just set 2 for the AAR in the settings tab.
(assuming you've changed your startup file in ROF/data, and typed the correct path for the mission log)

As explained here: http://riseofflight.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=29072

Also, that's right there aren't many ennemy AAA, as well as ground objects. But Pat is working on it.
  • 0

#88 NuthaRod

NuthaRod
  • Posts: 41

Posted 11 April 2012 - 00:29

I can't see an "advanced config" button, which might bring my journey to a halt.

I hit config, but the screen that then comes up doesn't appear to be resizable or scrollable. The last row I can see is 'odds of creating an escort mission: Allied'. If the button is below that, I don't seem to have any way to view it or click it.

Thanks for the help, though.
  • 0

#89 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 11 April 2012 - 02:26

One more little niggle. I don't know if the AAR system is just being stingy or my wingmen are all blind, but I've made several kills in my missions but each time the claims are denied. :| Is there something wrong or is this how it's supposed to be?
  • 0

#90 JimmyBlonde

JimmyBlonde
  • Posts: 2346

Posted 11 April 2012 - 02:37

It seems to work best if you get the thing set up, start a career and don't touch it after that. I've had a bug where the CG doesn't read any victories at all after making changes to the settings.

The criteria for victories seems to depend on the proximity of your kill to a friendly ground witness more than from wingmen.
  • 0

#91 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 11 April 2012 - 02:46

.
  • 0

#92 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 11 April 2012 - 02:47

It seems to work best if you get the thing set up, start a career and don't touch it after that. I've had a bug where the CG doesn't read any victories at all after making changes to the settings.

The criteria for victories seems to depend on the proximity of your kill to a friendly ground witness more than from wingmen.

So if you shoot down a plane behind enemy lines you don't have a very good chance? Hmm, is that a good way to make use of the claims system?
  • 0

#93 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 11 April 2012 - 03:59

is that a good way to make use of the claims system?

French side, it was the way it was!
All our kills are not counted each time, even full automatic on…i kind of like it :)

Don't try to mess with settings once career began, anyway. Or start an other one…

I can't see an "advanced config" button, which might bring my journey to a halt.

I hit config, but the screen that then comes up doesn't appear to be resizable or scrollable. The last row I can see is 'odds of creating an escort mission: Allied'. If the button is below that, I don't seem to have any way to view it or click it.

Do you run the latest Java on your rig?
  • 0

#94 NuthaRod

NuthaRod
  • Posts: 41

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:30

Do you run the latest Java on your rig?

Yes… version 6, update 31.
  • 0

#95 JimmyBlonde

JimmyBlonde
  • Posts: 2346

Posted 12 April 2012 - 01:03

It seems to work best if you get the thing set up, start a career and don't touch it after that. I've had a bug where the CG doesn't read any victories at all after making changes to the settings.

The criteria for victories seems to depend on the proximity of your kill to a friendly ground witness more than from wingmen.

So if you shoot down a plane behind enemy lines you don't have a very good chance? Hmm, is that a good way to make use of the claims system?


Well, historically and claim had to have physical evidence or corroboration from ground units. (afaik)
  • 0

#96 FlapsUp

FlapsUp
  • Posts: 2

Posted 08 May 2012 - 15:20

Hi,

I'm trying this Pat Wilson CG, but when I try to load a genereted mission in ROF, I get an "out of memory" message, although my system say there are still 4 Go free… Where am I wrong ?

Thank you for your help
  • 0

#97 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 08 May 2012 - 16:27

Make sure you typed the path to RoF correctly in the PWCG setup. It's in Advanced Configuration and called GUI.
  • 0

#98 FlapsUp

FlapsUp
  • Posts: 2

Posted 08 May 2012 - 17:02

Great, you found the right answer! Everything works fine now…

Thank you, HotTom
  • 0

#99 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 08 May 2012 - 17:03

Great!

Done it myself (fat fingers and old brain) ;)
  • 0

#100 [Red_Guard]

[Red_Guard]
  • Posts: 12

Posted 20 May 2012 - 07:24

Hola All,
New RoFer and just installed the Pat Wilson CG. Seems to be a fantastic addition to the sim. Joined a squad and generated flown a couple of missions, but facing a wall of some sorts. Can't put my finger on it as usual!

The year is 1916, early January. I'[ve joined Jasta 16b equipped with Fokker E.III but upon generating the mission I always end up with an Albatross D.Va on the tarmac. Nice, but not right.
The rest of the squad flies Fokker E.IIIs.
Whu not me? What have I done?

Cheers,
Red
  • 0

#101 EAF92_Whiskey

EAF92_Whiskey
  • Posts: 72

Posted 20 May 2012 - 08:24

Have you selected the EIII in the planes owned section of the configuration panel of PWCG? That's what usually gets forgotten to cause missing planes.

WB.
  • 0

#102 Joker_BR

Joker_BR
  • Posts: 547

Posted 02 June 2012 - 23:18

*Very* strange behavior: tried to play with CG several times before and every time my game turns into a slow motion movie after flying for some minutes into the mission. With 10.5 is no different.

When I take off everything works perfectly, and seems to run in "real time", but as the time passes, you start to realize that the game is becoming more and more slow motion… today I went ahead until it felt like 1/4 speed, then I quit. There's no microstuttering nor freezing… it's just like playing in full speed, then after some minutes you realize you are more like 3/4, then 1/2, then 1/4 speed and so on… the change is progressive, so smooth you can't notice the steps.
CPU and memory all stay normal during the whole game. Playing standalone or multiplayer doesn't show this problem. Only in PWCG, since ever. Tried the 10.5, same problem. Would really like to enjoy CG.

Anyone?
  • 0

#103 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4422

Posted 03 June 2012 - 04:45

My i5-2500k/Hd7970-3Gb does not have any problems, so please put in your pc spec's please!!
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#104 Joker_BR

Joker_BR
  • Posts: 547

Posted 03 June 2012 - 16:30

My i5-2500k/Hd7970-3Gb does not have any problems, so please put in your pc spec's please!!
Q6600@3Ghz, 4Gb RAM, HD5850 1Gb, Win7 x64
I've monitored the game, and my cpu and memory were about 80% during all flying time.
  • 0

#105 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4422

Posted 03 June 2012 - 18:28

These rig must never have any RoF problems, what %Vram are you using?
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#106 Joker_BR

Joker_BR
  • Posts: 547

Posted 04 June 2012 - 01:48

These rig must never have any RoF problems, what %Vram are you using?
Yep Dutch, thought about that too.
Tried with 75% and 88%, same results. Right now I'm back to 101% (works just fine in every scenario - SP or MP - no stutters or low fps during "normal" RoF game).
There is something that puzzles me: when you play the game in slow motion (by pressing the [ key), the sound and everything else gets "slow" as well. This is exactly what's happening with the game when I play some PWCG mission. It gets progressively slow, takes several minutes to the point where you can tell it is running like 1/2, but eventually it will come to 1/4 and so on.
On the other hand. when you're dealing with something that is causing your machine to struggle, the sound doesn't mimic the slow down… normally you'll get stutters or something odd first.
So, the game is *really* playing progressively in slow motion by itself, more and more, only in PWCG missions. And the CPU and audio and video are all working perfectly to present a really smooth slow motion movie on my screen (no stutters, all smooth like butter - but slow motion).
CPU never went above 80%, neither video card.
Never heard/saw something like this before in 25+ years of IT. :?
  • 0

#107 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16385

Posted 04 June 2012 - 01:54

These rig must never have any RoF problems, what %Vram are you using?
Yep Dutch, thought about that too.
Tried with 75% and 88%, same results. Right now I'm back to 101% (works just fine in every scenario - SP or MP - no stutters or low fps during "normal" RoF game).
There is something that puzzles me: when you play the game in slow motion (by pressing the [ key), the sound and everything else gets "slow" as well. This is exactly what's happening with the game when I play some PWCG mission. It gets progressively slow, takes several minutes to the point where you can tell it is running like 1/2, but eventually it will come to 1/4 and so on.
On the other hand. when you're dealing with something that is causing your machine to struggle, the sound doesn't mimic the slow down… normally you'll get stutters or something odd first.
So, the game is *really* playing progressively in slow motion by itself, more and more, only in PWCG missions. And the CPU and audio and video are all working perfectly to present a really smooth slow motion movie on my screen (no stutters, all smooth like butter - but slow motion).
CPU never went above 80%, neither video card.
Never heard/saw something like this before in 25+ years of IT. :?

I think I've seen the same thing earlier tonight - ran a couple of PWCG missions with the new 10.5 version (first time in a long time I've messed with PWCG what with all the beta CM testing I've been doing), and about halfway through the second one I started really feeling like I was flying in slow motion. My FPS looked just fine (per FRAPS) and it wasn't jerky or stuttering or anything, but it just kinda gave the impression of flying through molasses or something. Couldn't really put a finger on what was going on, but it did seem weird. Never noticed it before, either in earlier PWCG missions or anywhere else.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 65.jpg


#108 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 05 June 2012 - 00:21

Slowdown means that your CPU is not up to the task of 30+ aircraft all flying around at the same time. Unlike other flight sims, RoF does not fudge the flight models of AI aircraft, which means a very high CPU workload.
  • 0

#109 Joker_BR

Joker_BR
  • Posts: 547

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:09

Slowdown means that your CPU is not up to the task of 30+ aircraft all flying around at the same time. Unlike other flight sims, RoF does not fudge the flight models of AI aircraft, which means a very high CPU workload.

Thanks for the info, gavagai. Unfortunately my CPU doesn't go above 80~90% on two cores. Other two remains at 20% or so. Guess it is a software limit imposed by the code (the way the threads escalate) then. Will leave PWCG until I manage to get a more powerful system.
  • 0

#110 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4422

Posted 05 June 2012 - 04:30

Why not simulate this in a quick mission by clicking all and max planes on. I do not have any problems in slowing down btw, so I can not simulate.
But I know I had that same slowdowns, using a AMD 64 X2 6400+ dualcore. It did run ok at 90-98% load when the screen was not to crowded, when activity did increased the CPU became overloaded and screen was running step by step, which mostly did result in a error.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#111 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 05 June 2012 - 18:03

My anecdotal experience is that cpu clock speed is more important for preventing slowdowns than multiple cores. Perhaps the FM calculating can only be assigned to one core.
  • 0

#112 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 07 June 2012 - 21:33

If you are having performance issues go to the configuration screen and select "Low" density. This is how I fly on a 3 year old computer and it works pretty well. Activity level is just fine.
  • 0

#113 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 08 June 2012 - 00:00

@ PAT: any news about a working windsock in your campaign?
It's cruelly missing for my N17 landings…
  • 0

#114 Joker_BR

Joker_BR
  • Posts: 547

Posted 08 June 2012 - 03:19

If you are having performance issues go to the configuration screen and select "Low" density. This is how I fly on a 3 year old computer and it works pretty well. Activity level is just fine.
Thanks for the tip. Will try.
  • 0

#115 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Posts: 3411

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:44

+1 on the windsock :)
  • 0

#116 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4422

Posted 08 June 2012 - 17:28

http://www.youtube.c...h?v=539K3ggTwxk" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">

Some help on PW-CG, made by a guy from the Netherlands
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#117 jeanba4

jeanba4
  • Posts: 1257

Posted 15 June 2012 - 17:32

Hello

I just started using PWCG.
I tried a campaign with the Br108 i 01/10/1917, but the mission does not work : when I "strat" the mission, it starts to load then goes back after few seconds to the "mission" menu.
Note that I started another campaign which works well (and looks quiet enjoyable :) ).

Thank you in advance for your help
  • 0

#118 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 15 June 2012 - 18:44

Hello

I just started using PWCG.
I tried a campaign with the Br108 i 01/10/1917, but the mission does not work : when I "strat" the mission, it starts to load then goes back after few seconds to the "mission" menu.
Note that I started another campaign which works well (and looks quiet enjoyable :) ).

Thank you in advance for your help
I encountered the same thing for the first time with the release of the most recent PWCG (10.5). I sent Pat a message with a link to the mission files over at SimHQ and he acknowledged receipt of those. Hopefully, it will lead to him finding and correcting whatever bug is causing the occasional bad missions from being generated.

It doesn't happen all the time. I was able to generate another mission in the same campaign and fly it without problems.
  • 0

#119 jeanba4

jeanba4
  • Posts: 1257

Posted 15 June 2012 - 19:02

In my case, it is quite systematic.
After 3 attempts, I even retried one with Br107 starting in January with the same results.
Anyway, I trust Pat Wilson's support
  • 0

#120 jeanba4

jeanba4
  • Posts: 1257

Posted 17 June 2012 - 08:52

Just checked, it may be due to the fact that the name of my pilots contained accents (like a lot of french names)
I started the same campaigns with a different name and it looks ok
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users