Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Pat Wilson Campaign Generator support


  • Please log in to reply
1432 replies to this topic

#41 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 19 January 2012 - 18:12

How are you to know what happened with the other pilots in your squardon. When i flew the generated mission it just shows my name in the mission and no others. the name it shows is my profile name not my mission generator name. Is that normal or should I see the generated mission name with pilots in squadron?

If you use the automated after action report, it reads the Mission Report File and that gives it every event in the mission, including those you didn't see yourself.

That's the advantage of it.

The disadvantage is that RoF sometimes credits me with kills but the automated AAR doesn't. I have no idea why.
  • 0

#42 wrong_name_1161

wrong_name_1161
  • Posts: 12

Posted 19 January 2012 - 18:17

How are you to know what happened with the other pilots in your squardon. When i flew the generated mission it just shows my name in the mission and no others. the name it shows is my profile name not my mission generator name. Is that normal or should I see the generated mission name with pilots in squadron?

If you use the automated after action report, it reads the Mission Report File and that gives it every event in the mission, including those you didn't see yourself.

Looks like I might be using an old version of the program. Thanks for your help Tom.
  • 0

#43 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 19 January 2012 - 18:27

How are you to know what happened with the other pilots in your squardon. When i flew the generated mission it just shows my name in the mission and no others. the name it shows is my profile name not my mission generator name. Is that normal or should I see the generated mission name with pilots in squadron?

If you use the automated after action report, it reads the Mission Report File and that gives it every event in the mission, including those you didn't see yourself.

Is that automated after action report in the config menu? Do I need to have Mods turned on in RoF?

At the risk of saying RTFM :mrgreen: here's what the instructions to implement the automated AAR that are in the download and they are correct (Pat wrote it):

On main screen go into Configuration\Advanced Config\Configuration Parameters:GUI and enter for the Mission Log File Directory the following:
for a 64 bit system C:\Program Files (x86)\Rise of Flight\data
or for 32 bit OS just C:\Program Files\Rise of Flight\data

Now in the RoF game file (don't look for it in the RoFCampaign data folder) …\Rise of Flight\data\Startup.cfg scroll to near the bottom and ensure that mission_text_log = 1, edit with Notepad if necessary and save.


Mods On or Mods Off makes no difference as to the after action report. Using Criquet's FM Mod (with Mods On of course) greatly improves the missions IMHO.
  • 0

#44 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 19 January 2012 - 20:59

Now in the RoF game file (don't look for it in the RoFCampaign data folder) …\Rise of Flight\data\Startup.cfg scroll to near the bottom and ensure that mission_text_log = 1, edit with Notepad if necessary and save.

Don't forget to back it to 0, if you're not flying PWCG…
It seems ROF doesn't work correctly staying on "text_log=1" :?
  • 0

#45 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 19 January 2012 - 21:13

Actually, Fifi, I've had no problems leaving the setting at "text_log=1" while flying other than PWCG. Those other flights do still generate mission files, so I have to go in to the folder once in a while to manually delete those, but that's just housecleaning.

What kinds of issues have you seen?
  • 0

#46 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 19 January 2012 - 21:48

No particular issue, but it was mentioned in the read me…

Other thing about PWCG, if you don't mind asking: could you give me the list of different missions we can fly in CG, please? Are there any photographic ones?
  • 0

#47 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 19 January 2012 - 22:26

It will depend on the aircraft and time of the war, I think. I haven't flown a photograph or recon mission yet, but I have been flying scouts, primarily in 1916, 1917. I have seen offensive patrols, scramble, escort, balloon protection and line patrol.
  • 0

#48 BADMUTHA

BADMUTHA
  • Posts: 3535

Posted 24 January 2012 - 01:20

How are you to know what happened with the other pilots in your squardon. When i flew the generated mission it just shows my name in the mission and no others. the name it shows is my profile name not my mission generator name. Is that normal or should I see the generated mission name with pilots in squadron?

If you use the automated after action report, it reads the Mission Report File and that gives it every event in the mission, including those you didn't see yourself.

That's the advantage of it.

The disadvantage is that RoF sometimes credits me with kills but the automated AAR doesn't. I have no idea why.

Are you talking about the new kill denied system? In the last update Pat introduced the possibility that your claimed kills can be denied, I think it's pretty awesome.
  • 0

#49 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 24 January 2012 - 01:28

Are you talking about the new kill denied system? In the last update Pat introduced the possibility that your claimed kills can be denied, I think it's pretty awesome.

Yup. I think it sucks. There is no rhyme or reason to it at all. I don't get credit for EA that I and my wingman saw come apart in the air.

If there are any criteria for confirming a kill, I sure don;t know what they are.

That's awesome?

(Of course, your idea of "awesome" and mine do vary a tad at times. :mrgreen: )
  • 0

#50 BADMUTHA

BADMUTHA
  • Posts: 3535

Posted 24 January 2012 - 01:54

But during the war wingmen didn't count for kill confirmations? Of course you of all people should know this right, feel free to fill me in if you think otherwise.

I think it's cool because it adds a little more immersion, I think it's even better if you don't look at the scoreboard at the end of a mission to see exactly how many kills the game credited you with and then only enter the number of planes you 'think' you shot down.

From how he explained it I don't think there is any rhyme or reason to whether or not it gets denied but it simulates being forced to hunt down kill confirmations, can't have everything Tom but as someone who seems to be against the multiplayer score-whoring airquake take on WW1, I would have thought you'd like the feature.

Also it dampens the insane amount of kills one can achieve in a single career, I would have been credited over a hundred in my Se5a career by the time it was over if not for the occasional denied kill, instead I think I ended up with 89 or something.
  • 1

#51 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 24 January 2012 - 02:00

There are still bugs in how it's implemented though. I shot down a pair of EIIIs in a mission the other night – one went down in flames, the other the wings folded and he fell like a rock. Plenty of fellow wingmen in the area at the time too. I claimed the two EIIIs as killed, but PWCG said they were denied. However, when I looked at the squadron list, I had two kills credited to me.
  • 0

#52 BADMUTHA

BADMUTHA
  • Posts: 3535

Posted 24 January 2012 - 02:07

Hm, maybe you should report it to Pat on SimHQ.
  • 0

#53 JimmyBlonde

JimmyBlonde
  • Posts: 2346

Posted 01 March 2012 - 05:43

I can't get any kills credited at all any more, not even if I choose the automatic AAR method, they don't even show up.

Annoying, it worked well for a while though but it looks like I'll have to go back to Balloon Wars beta until it gets fixed.
  • 0

#54 elephant

elephant
  • Posts: 1156

Posted 01 March 2012 - 06:45

This is strange, I only play PWCG with no problems in attributing kills, whatsoever… :?
Have you checked your startup.cfg?
After game updating the startup configuration is set to default.

I'm reposting below the steps to set AAR in PWCG:

Step 1:

Go to your startup file in the data folder:

[KEY = system]
debug_info = 0
gamelog = 1
keep_binary_log = 0
mission_text_log = 1
modes = 0
show_net_skins = 1
skin_dir = "graphics\Skins\"

Make sure the bolded line is set to zero if you're not playing a PW mission. (or you'll end up with 3,500 mision log files in your data folder, like me!).
You'll need to re-enable it if you want automatic mission reporting.

Step 2:

Open CG and go to Configuration -> Configuration Parameters: GUI.
Set the appropriate path for the CG to track your log files:
i.e. the data folder in your Rise of Flight main directory:

Image

You are good to go now.
Play a mission and when finished open CG -> Continue
and select Automatic AAR,
then choose the mission you want to load, presumably the latest one and you will have track of what happened in your latest mission (kills, losses, awardings, aces involved, ect).

Image

:S!:
  • 0

#55 JimmyBlonde

JimmyBlonde
  • Posts: 2346

Posted 01 March 2012 - 07:23

Yes, I've done all of that, it was working properly before and I know how to set up the AAR's properly.

Your last picture is outdated btw, the UI has changed since then.

I'm also missing intelligence reports and, at Bertangles airfield there are far too many hangars all spawned on top of each other.

I'm going to re-download PWCG and update my java client, see how that goes.
  • 0

#56 J5_Wolf

J5_Wolf
  • Posts: 416

Posted 01 March 2012 - 22:29

Just a heads up once you get it working correctly, right click on the Startup.cfg. file and choose hidden, then OK. Cause it seems like every time you update the game it resets itself. This way the file wont get reset, at least this works for me.
  • 0

#57 MetalAttack

MetalAttack
  • Posts: 7

Posted 13 March 2012 - 14:09

I only noticed a couple of other people posting about the lack of intelligence data…

Is everybody experiencing this issue? Or is it just a few people?

Did the intelligence reports add anything apart from immersion?

Another problem is that some of the screens stretch beyond my desktop… Is that because of my resolution or is there some problem?

Is there somewhere to download the previous versions of the campaign generator so I can see if the intelligence problem is something to do with the way I have it set up or with the latest version?
  • 0

#58 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 13 March 2012 - 15:39

I haven't seen working intelligence reports for a while either.
  • 0

#59 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 13 March 2012 - 15:43

Both the automatic AAR and the intelligence reports are kaput in the current version. I've gone back to manual scoring.
  • 0

#60 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 05 April 2012 - 07:57

How come i don't have the same GUI as this one? (i have the latest version! - 10.3):

Image

I don't have the auto/manual AAR setting above intelligence…

I have only this GUI:

Attached File  Sans titre.jpg   85.27KB   278 downloads

Is the automatic AAR really broken? :shock:
  • 0

#61 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 05 April 2012 - 14:49

Elephant, that is an old UI.

In the current version, you choose the type of AAR you want in one of the Configuration Menus. Then you just click Combat Report as in the example Fifi posted.

And yes, Fifi, Auto AAR is broken.

Kaput.

FUBAR.

Really.

For sure.

Honest Injun (can we say that anymore? :o ).

Would I lie to you? :mrgreen:

Would you buy a used car from someone like me? :roll:

:S!:

HT
  • 0

#62 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 06 April 2012 - 20:29

Is there any Gotha encounter flying in PWCG?
  • 0

#63 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 06 April 2012 - 21:01

Yes.
  • 0

#64 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 06 April 2012 - 22:51

Thanks Gav.

And yes, Fifi, Auto AAR is broken.

Well, not here! Everything is working fine, and kills are automatic counted…
(did you put back the startup logfile = 1?)
  • 0

#65 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 07 April 2012 - 22:28

A quick one:

Does PWCG working fine completely off line? (for the automatic AAR?)
Doesn't need to transit by master server?
  • 0

#66 JimmyBlonde

JimmyBlonde
  • Posts: 2346

Posted 07 April 2012 - 23:41

A quick one:

Does PWCG working fine completely off line? (for the automatic AAR?)
Doesn't need to transit by master server?

It's completely client side Fifi, no connection to the master server is required.
  • 0

#67 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 08 April 2012 - 00:36

Great thing…i was guessing but not sure as i didn't try completely offline.

Thanks Jimmy :S!:
  • 0

#68 Pirato

Pirato
  • Posts: 1588
  • LocationUnder a Bridge

Posted 08 April 2012 - 19:01

Hey all,
I'm curently playing a career with PWCG. My question is,when I hit "finish flight" after a in my opinion successful Mission it always shows "Incomplete" in the results. I never had noticed this until today,is it supposed to be like that or am I doing something wrong?
Another question,playing as a Twoseater Pilot,what's to do in Recon Missions. Is it just flying along the Waypoints or is it something like in Beta career where I need to identifiy the groundunits and mark them in my Notes? At first i thought that I forgot to equip the Photo in the Hangar,but it was equiped on every Recon Mission. …I never saw showing up the Eye Icon as in Beta Career.
  • 0

Dann gibt's Heulen und Zähne klammern, für das ganze Lumpenpack.
Dann ist Schluss mit "Tischlein deck' dich", da gibt's "Knüppel aus dem Sack"!


#69 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 08 April 2012 - 19:51

The "Incomplete" result is normal – you aren't doing anything wrong. Mission assessment is done outside the game by running the PWCG and recording mission results in it.

As to the 2-seater question, someone else will have to answer that one. I haven't tried 2-seater careers with PWCG yet.
  • 0

#70 Pirato

Pirato
  • Posts: 1588
  • LocationUnder a Bridge

Posted 08 April 2012 - 19:56

Thanks for the reply,arjisme :S!:
  • 0

Dann gibt's Heulen und Zähne klammern, für das ganze Lumpenpack.
Dann ist Schluss mit "Tischlein deck' dich", da gibt's "Knüppel aus dem Sack"!


#71 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 08 April 2012 - 22:30

Is the download on the Useful Materials page still the most up-to-date version?
  • 0

#72 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 08 April 2012 - 22:37

10.3 is the latest version. You should be able to see it in the PWCG first window (with the 2 eagles)

Off line works great at the moment!
  • 0

#73 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 08 April 2012 - 23:17

Okay, I downloaded the latest version then. Thanks!
  • 0

#74 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 09 April 2012 - 00:45

Don't forget to read Elephant's post above, to configure data/startup folder and logfile path.
Otherwise no AAR…
  • 0

#75 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 09 April 2012 - 01:23

I found elephant's post but I'm a little late to this party. What's AAR? :P
  • 0

#76 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 09 April 2012 - 01:28

For the result of mission (counted kills)
You can set it manual, or fully automatic in the PWCG settings.
  • 0

#77 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 09 April 2012 - 02:16

I found elephant's post but I'm a little late to this party. What's AAR? :P

After Action Report, common militaryspeak but not a term you're likely to see in high school :mrgreen:
  • 0

#78 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 09 April 2012 - 02:46

*Jab ignored* :P Thanks Fifi, and HT.

:S!:
  • 0

#79 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 09 April 2012 - 02:48

*Jab ignored* :P Thanks Fifi, and HT.

:S!:

LOL.

:S!:
  • 0

#80 J2_SteveF

J2_SteveF
  • Posts: 995
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 09 April 2012 - 13:25

Anyone getting good results with thwe COOP function of PWCG?

I tried to generate a couple of missions. However the enemy AI rarely takes off and there is a lot of double spawning, as in 2 aircraft occupying the same space.
  • 0

sig.png



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users