Global announcements



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
Offline Hoogie
Нескромный / Immodest
User avatar
Posts: 128
Hello

I just upgraded my video card to an EVGA GTX 670 with 4gb memory. I know it is overkill, but I wanted lots of memory so I will be able to upgraded to bigger resolution or triple monitors some day. Currently, I am running a 24" monitor at 1920x1080 with a i5 2500k oc'd to 4.3 ghz on 8 gb memory. I am attaching my video card and game settings below. The game looks fantastic and my frames are pretty good too. I get about 45 on the ground and it pegs at 60 in the air. It will drop down to 40-45 sometimes, but mostly stays in the 50-60 range.

One of my questions relates to the new Sharp Image setting. When I turn it on, it seems like it causes anti aliasing to stop working. I know I have read about others experiencing the same thing. Is there any settings someone has found where they can still get good AA while using Sharp Image?

Second, I love the way the game looks with the Supersampling enabled. However, I don't like the way blood and oil looks with Post Effects enabled. Does setting Supersampling through Nvidia control panel/Inspector give me the same looking graphics? I have never used Inspector yet, so is the Supersampling setting in it different?

Anyways, any help is appreciated and hopefully my settings can help be a guide to someone considering this card.
Attachments:
rofsettings.jpg
rofsettings.jpg [ 131.86 KiB | Viewed 1188 times ]
nvsettings.jpg
nvsettings.jpg [ 101.81 KiB | Viewed 1188 times ]
Joined
Thu 02 Jul 2009, 21:33

#1 Post Wed 04 Jul 2012, 06:32

Offline =Fifi=
Глас / Talking Guru
User avatar
Posts: 10323
You should download and install Nvidia inspector instead of using Nvidia control panel imo ;)
It will give you more adjustments, and ROF is avalaible in the inside list...

I never found any Nvidia inspector supersampling giving same rendering as the ROF one.

Have you tried your settings on pict but with AAX8?
As for supersampling, ROF AAX8 is much better than any Nvidia AA...

You should be able to max out grass, shadows and reflexion with such card :shock: (at least high reflexion).
I do with "only" the 580...

In Nvidia inspector, you'll be able to set triple buffering on, and lod bias on clamp ;)
Much better imo.

PS: that's why i don't enable the sharp image.
I had a dream...
Joined
Sun 18 Oct 2009, 01:05

#2 Post Wed 04 Jul 2012, 07:49

Online BroadSide
Глас / Talking Guru
User avatar
Posts: 2044
I have the same card.
I use inspector x4 Sparse Grid Supersampling for super sampling. It's WAY better than RoFs supersampling, and gives less of an FPS hit....though the hit is there. X2 is probably good enough for your monitor to take care of the shimmering. I'm running 24" 1920x1200 16:10 ratio monitor. I can run my 3 monitors at 5760x1200, but I decided I dont care for the fisheye view of the side monitor warping.
I've fiddled and fiddled with the settings and finally decided that RoF x4 AA, Inspector 4x SGSS and everything max in RoF except Shaders--which is set to High, and Reflection--which is set to high, is the best FPS/picture with no shimmering.

Hope that helps!
Win764
MBAsus Maximus V Gene
CPU i7 3770k@3.5GHz
16gbGSKILL1600
256SamsungSSD
CoolerPhanteksph‑tc14pe
nVidia670GTX4gbDrivers: 314.22
CHPedalsSaitekThrottleQuadrantTIR5ButtKicker Gamer 2
3 24" monitors = 5760x1200
Joined
Wed 08 Jul 2009, 05:13

#3 Post Wed 04 Jul 2012, 08:35

Online FlyingShark
Глас / Talking Guru
User avatar
Posts: 1868
Don't forget that when Jason released the graphics primer, he told us not to set AA higher than 2 when using supersampling.

Read this:
Graphics Primer for ver. 1.019 / 1.020

:S!:
ImageImage
Joined
Sun 26 Jul 2009, 02:27

#4 Post Sat 07 Jul 2012, 16:13

Online Panthercules
Dev. Partners
User avatar
Posts: 12340
Ok - must be doing something wrong here.

I decided to try upgrading from my GTX 570 to an EVGA GTX 670 4GB superclocked card. I wasn't expecting a massive improvement (and I have another machine that can use my 570 as a hand-me-down), but I thought I'd see a pretty decent bump.

However, with exactly the same settings as I used on my 570, I'm only seeing a 5-10% improvement in FPS with the new 670 :shock: :( , and that's without bumping up any of the settings (so I'm still not able to run anywhere close to maxed out). There's gotta be something wrong with this picture.

nVidia Control Panel settings (the "custom" setting is a result of running the nVidia SSAA tool at 2x, which is necessary to eliminate shimmering and was also running with my 570):
Image

RoF video settings:
Image

Specs are in my sig below (other than the new video card)- what in the heck is going on here?
Intel Core i7-4770K @3.5 GHz
ASUS ROG Maximus VI MB
16GB RAM
EVGA GTX 780, 3 GB
Realtek ROG SupremeFX audio
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Wed 05 Aug 2009, 04:29

#5 Post Tue 17 Jul 2012, 06:22

Offline =Fifi=
Глас / Talking Guru
User avatar
Posts: 10323
Yes Panther, something is weird somewhere.
With my ZOTAC 580 1.5Gb and graphics higher than yours (landscape max, grass max, reflexion high etc), i can run ROF very smooth and plenty enough FPS in any flying case of CM or PWCG...
Ok, my video memory usage in launcher isn't 14%...actually around 70%. But it's all fine!
Not to say my new 2560X1440 resolution took a bit of GC power, but it's the best upgrade i did since TIR5! Looks just fantastic without need of sharp effect or any HDR...

Maybe you should restaure default settings in control pannel, and download/install latest inspector in wich you'll have a lot more settings!
I had a dream...
Joined
Sun 18 Oct 2009, 01:05

#6 Post Tue 17 Jul 2012, 07:54

Online SYN_Mars
Нескромный / Immodest
User avatar
Posts: 136
The fact that your seeing minimal improvement at the same settings suggests your CPU is the limiting factor - ROF loves high clock speeds.
Joined
Fri 24 Jun 2011, 21:28

#7 Post Tue 17 Jul 2012, 18:47

Offline =Fifi=
Глас / Talking Guru
User avatar
Posts: 10323
You can check your CPU load while running ROF career mission or QMB, via the windows task manager ;)
Doing that, i realised my previous I5 was almost fully loaded and one core was about 95% average.
With my new I7, everything is down again and get plenty capacity free.
I had a dream...
Joined
Sun 18 Oct 2009, 01:05

#8 Post Tue 17 Jul 2012, 20:59

Online Panthercules
Dev. Partners
User avatar
Posts: 12340
=Fifi= wrote:
You can check your CPU load while running ROF career mission or QMB, via the windows task manager ;)
Doing that, i realised my previous I5 was almost fully loaded and one core was about 95% average.
With my new I7, everything is down again and get plenty capacity free.



I was beginning to wonder if maybe it was time for a new build with a newer CPU. but I was hoping to be able to put that off for a bit longer. I'll try to take a look at that later tonight when I get back from work. Thanks for the tips.

I assume that probably a new 4-core that's a faster clock speed would be better than a new 6-core that's a slower clock speed, or does it not work that way for RoF? (been a while since I saw those threads about 4 vs 6 cores for RoF)
Intel Core i7-4770K @3.5 GHz
ASUS ROG Maximus VI MB
16GB RAM
EVGA GTX 780, 3 GB
Realtek ROG SupremeFX audio
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Wed 05 Aug 2009, 04:29

#9 Post Tue 17 Jul 2012, 21:16

Offline der_zahn
Общительный / Talkative
User avatar
Posts: 241
My AMD 6 core never goes above 40% usage playing this game....ever.

I think that if you look at all the posts pertaining to the 600 series of graphics cards, there is one constant, hardly anyone is getting the gains they thought they were going to get.

Anywho, good luck. :S!:
MSFFB2Red/Trackir4/TMWarthog Throttle/BKGamer2/LogitechG13/SaitekPZ45/SaitekCombatPedals
Joined
Sat 02 Oct 2010, 16:44

#10 Post Tue 17 Jul 2012, 21:32

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: